Welcome, Guest
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username
  

Password
  





Search Forums

(Advanced Search)

Forum Statistics
» Members: 535
» Latest member: FitoSprayiweert
» Forum threads: 683
» Forum posts: 4,661

Full Statistics

Online Users
There are currently 39 online users.
» 0 Member(s) | 39 Guest(s)

Latest Threads
Update for CTI ProX Motor...
Forum: Vendor & Manufacturer Display
Last Post: Sunward
06-16-2018, 02:47 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 98
Crossloads Cross-up, AT K...
Forum: Propulsion Non-EX
Last Post: MarkH
06-16-2018, 12:00 AM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 85
Amazing Lego SpaceX Falco...
Forum: Rocketry-Related
Last Post: IndianaSteve
06-12-2018, 06:46 PM
» Replies: 1
» Views: 45
Lot of E size motor clips...
Forum: Vendor & Manufacturer Display
Last Post: Sunward
06-09-2018, 02:30 PM
» Replies: 3
» Views: 781
Cambridge Rocket Club in ...
Forum: Local
Last Post: Sunward
06-09-2018, 02:23 PM
» Replies: 54
» Views: 27,574
The boys and their projec...
Forum: Your Projects
Last Post: IndianaSteve
06-02-2018, 09:51 PM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 325
AMW Red Max Build
Forum: High Power
Last Post: IndianaSteve
05-27-2018, 07:12 PM
» Replies: 36
» Views: 11,583
CTI Pro98 Closures Back i...
Forum: Vendor & Manufacturer Display
Last Post: Sunward
05-24-2018, 05:02 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 111
Looking for AT or CTI 75m...
Forum: Buy it
Last Post: Dave A
05-19-2018, 11:01 AM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 112
L1 build thread
Forum: High Power
Last Post: MarkH
05-15-2018, 09:51 PM
» Replies: 24
» Views: 2,851

 
  Need some help with the MPR and HPR forums...
Posted by: K'Tesh - 06-07-2015, 02:12 AM - Forum: Forum Help - Replies (1)

Can't post in either forums.

Thanks!
Jim

Print this item

  Finishing 3 up
Posted by: rvanleer65 - 06-07-2015, 01:09 AM - Forum: Your Projects - No Replies

I have an Estes PS Nike Smoke, a PML Mini BBX DD and a Quest Harpoon all in finish and painting stage.  Up next after that will be a Madcow 4" Pike with DD.

Print this item

  What's your favorite LPR rocket(s)?
Posted by: K'Tesh - 06-07-2015, 12:36 AM - Forum: Low Power - Replies (45)

Anybody got a favorite out there?

No points for guessing mine...

[Image: 16523032531_9d073bb68a_o.jpg]

Print this item

  Bluetube Optimas
Posted by: DBMcCann - 06-07-2015, 12:29 AM - Forum: Your Projects - Replies (17)

So, I have this obsession.  I've got an Optima and a Shadow I built back in the day.  I've build two downscales out of BT60.  I've got a semi clone with a short BT and a round nosecone.  I have parts for two more full scale clones.  I have a BT50 SEMROC kit unbuilt, and both an Optima and a Shadow unbuilt in the boxes.    It's a small issue.  Way back when I got back into rocketry, I built a small Onyx.   Quickly outgrew my local fields and decided if I was going to club up, may as well build something worth doing an L1 on.  Thus began my plans for my first Bluetube Optima.   29mm, plywood fins.  I took a good bit of time building it, and learned a lot along the way.   I'd have done a few things differently,   better epoxies, 38mm mount, etc.  So I'm building that now too, and a cluster just for fun.   I'll get to those later, but here's the first- 

First layout of parts.  All this stuff seemed crazy big to me.
[Image: 5956207360_8d620917b1.jpg]

Fin layout:
[Image: 5959824552_71ff9f0f88.jpg]

Slotting the tubes.  I now use a dremel and cutoff wheel.
[Image: 5965992656_2de2170e75_z.jpg]

fitting the fins
[Image: 5965989888_e8353184b2_z.jpg]

first dry fit.  I cut a slot in the fin tabs and locked them over the CR.the motor mount is excessively long.

[Image: 5986096131_e2122f3f35.jpg][Image: 5970945559_0e536a610c.jpg][Image: 5968265477_4c4f0e6cec.jpg]

another place I went a little bit crazy, this U bolt, and massive harness.
[Image: 6016430334_f829119228.jpg][Image: 6016429062_bbfc383992.jpg]

This is after I took the clamps off that kept the forward fins in place:
[Image: 6027144069_1093104579.jpg]





May have overdone it here:
[Image: 6020295092_de68b09855.jpg]

Grabbed a rocketman 3' after I realized the fruity chutes 16 was waaaaay too small
[Image: 6110645306_9815f3b792.jpg]

Tiny thin fillets.  another thing I'd change
[Image: 6098069919_3b8cbd28eb.jpg]

inside-
[Image: 6027701194_c75a9a9fae.jpg]

Ready for paint, priming, painted!

[Image: 6027703222_671a7c3c30.jpg][Image: 6139214898_8b3f2d4d5e.jpg][Image: 6160522417_cc6e5a5fca.jpg][Image: 6128891232_a272c525c4.jpg][Image: 6190321343_46f5ec41ce.jpg][Image: 6187243504_a5c53bd954.jpg]

In flight-  F50T, G78G, G38FJ, F50T, G54R, H133BS, G77R, G40W, H250G, G79W, G138T, G80T, G78G, G77R, G79W,  G53J, G78G, G79W


[Image: 6233012116_1e3276ac02.jpg][Image: 6233017906_0e00c723f5.jpg][Image: 6232550269_82f6d78e75.jpg][Image: 8196908484_fe3fc5deee.jpg][Image: 8686809791_aa6202ebe0.jpg][Image: 8686817609_ea5eba8a7b.jpg][Image: 9438509675_95e7fd6ef4.jpg][Image: 9438905753_cf94874ed1.jpg][Image: 10393725733_348c1378b6.jpg]

[Image: 10393442724_6cd4046d2e.jpg][Image: 14064292533_efc69c063e.jpg][Image: 14579120694_8ff4bc74ce.jpg][Image: 14616995986_e7e17edbea.jpg][Image: 14579120054_2eb671c2e7.jpg][Image: 14394245920_c494956e18.jpg][Image: 15375449035_908c413605.jpg][Image: 17685466898_2a359dcd7b.jpg][Image: 17687025489_54393394c7.jpg]

So, Now I've learned what I did wrong.   I've debated going DD on this many times.  But it would put the weight into something that wouldn't fly on a G80,  and part of the great joy of this rocket is grab it, slap a motor in, and walk to the pad.    So it stays single deploy.  I have other rockets for going high.    But I want it with better glues, and a 38mm mount.  so here we go.

[Image: 16637988639_694bcb3da8.jpg]
[Image: 16603170746_272ce57be4.jpg][Image: 16717878603_22564c79b3.jpg]
[Image: 18318845261_1c0c2e12a0.jpg][Image: 17876123064_aaa43376e8.jpg]

Oh, and while I'm here...I found out these fit...so lets make a third Smile

[Image: 17202493045_427f9700bb.jpg]

Sanded the fins all even

[Image: 18312630789_cafdc4cabc.jpg]

dry fit
[Image: 18312633189_6954c3d0ae.jpg]

Heres the second fin going in.   The first was even, didn't need to be adjusted.  This one was slightly off, and the fin guide doesn't fit the 3/16 fins.  So I got a little creative.   Glued in the Motor mount and the fins with Aeropoxy ES6209.   Aeropack is on with JBweld.

[Image: 17928254903_8eff5261d3.jpg]

Print this item

  What I'd like to see in this website
Posted by: codysmith - 06-06-2015, 10:35 PM - Forum: Forum Help - Replies (41)

Hi! Great forum here! I'm assuming the site is still under construction as many of the forums won't let us post (not me anyways) 

A few things I would suggest:
1) A welcoming section where we can introduce ourselves
2) I want vendors to be able to post what they want without paying a huge fee
3) an upgrade from TRF!


Seriously though, I'm glad that this forum was started and I hope it all works out!

Print this item

  Banner Ads
Posted by: wclune - 06-06-2015, 10:27 PM - Forum: Forum Help - Replies (1)

Wondering how one might go about having a banner ad placed at the top? This one would be for LDRS34.
Nice forum BTW.

Print this item

Star General Resources
Posted by: WvonBraun - 06-06-2015, 10:09 PM - Forum: Beginners Corner - Replies (2)

If you are interested in building model rockets I will suggest three locations to visit starting with some basics.

Even if you intend to build high power rockets and you built some low power model rockets years ago I suggest that you build and fly at least one low power rocket to refresh your memory of previous builds. Before you can build you must have the tools and this page from the National Association of Rocketry, one of two national organizations for model rocketry in the United States, can help.
http://www.nar.org/educational-resources...echniques/

One company, Apogee Components, has created dozens of videos that can help the new builder or the returning modeler. The first series of videos show how to build and finish a skill level 1, low power model.  Additional videos address special components, electronics, and construction of high power rockets.
https://www.apogeerockets.com/How-To/Get...ket?f=dldm

If the intent is to build high power rockets then I suggest that the builder buy (or borrow) a copy of the book, "Modern High Power Rocketry 2" by Mark Canepa.  With the higher thrust and greater stresses found in high power rocketry, this book will help the builder to accommodate those factors into the construction of the rocket. A web search will provide several outlets for this book.

Below are links to other useful websites:

Shops
A2Z Hobbies http://www.a2zhobbies.com
ACSupply http://www.acsupplyco.com
Aerocon Aerospace http://www.aeroconsystems.com/index.html
Apogee Components http://www.apogeerockets.com
Apollo 11 (UK) http://www.apollomodels.com
Balsa Machining Service http://www.balsamachining.com
BRS Hobbies http://www.brshobbies.com
Coast Rocketry http://www.coastrocketry.com
Commonwealth http://www.commonwealth.net
Discount Rocketry http://www.discountrocketry.com
Giant Leap Rocketry http://www.giantleaprocketry.com
Great Hobbies http://www.greathobbies.com
Hangar 11 http://www.hangar11.com/
Heavenly Hobbies http://www.heavenlyhobbies.com/home.html
Hobby Linc http://www.hobbylinc.com
Jon Rocket http://www.jonrocket.com
Launch Pad 2000 http://www.launchpad2000.com
Leading Edge Rocketry http://leadingedgerocketry.com
Merlin Missile Solutions http://www.merlinmissiles.com/
Performance Hobbies http://www.performancehobbies.com
Photos By Nadine http://www.photosbynadine.com
Ray Dunakin's Aerial Photography raydunakin.com/Site/Welcome.html
Red Arrow Hobbies http://www.redarrowhobbies.com
Rocketarium http://www.rocketarium.com
Rockets and Things (UK) http://www.rockets-things.co.uk
SierraFox Hobbies (Italy) http://www.sierrafoxhobbies.com
Sirius Rocketry http://www.siriusrocketry.com
Star Rocketry http://www.starrocketry.com
The Rocket Garden http://www.therocketgarden.com
Totally Tubular http://www.erockets.biz/Totally-Tubular.html
Tower hobbies http://www.rocketfun.com
UDISCO http://www.udisco.com/
Uncle Mike's Rocket Shack http://www.unclemikesrocketshack.com
Wildman Rocketry http://www.wildmanrocketry.com/
Zeppelin Hobbies http://www.zephobby.com

Manufacturers
Advanced Rocketry Group http://www.argrockets.com/
Aero Pack http://www.aeropack.net
Aerospace Specialty Products http://www.asp-rocketry.com
Aerotech http://www.aerotech-rocketry.com
Always Ready Rocketry http://www.alwaysreadyrocketry.com
Art Applewhite http://www.artapplewhite.com
B2 Rocketry http://www.b2rocketry.com
Binder Design http://www.binderdesign.com
BMI Rocketry http://www.bmibay.net/rocketry.html
CNC Rings -n- Fins http://www.cnc-rings-fins.com
Cosmodrome Rocketry http://www.cosmodromerocketry.com
Custom Rocket Company http://www.customrocketcompany.com/
Cygnus Rocketry http://www.cygnusrocketry.com
Dr. Zooch http://drzooch.com/
Edmonds Aerospace http://www.edmondsaerospace.com
Estes Industries http://www.estesrockets.com
Excelsior Rocketry http://www.excelsiorrocketry.com
Fliskits http://www.fliskits.com
Fruity Chutes http://fruitychutes.com/
Giant Leap Rocketry http://www.giantleaprocketry.com
Hawk Mountain Enterprises http://www.hawkmountain.ws
High Tech Rocketry http://hightechrocketry.com/
Impulse Construction http://members.cox.net/impulseaerospace/main.htm
In Flight Rockets http://www.inflightrockets.com
LOC Precision http://www.locprecision.com
Madcow Rocketry http://www.madcowrocketry.com/
Mercury Engineering http://www.mercury-rockets.com/
Mile High Rockets http://www.milehighrockets.com/
Pemberton Technologies http://www.pembertontechnologies.com
Performance Rocketry http://www.performancerocketry.com
PML http://www.publicmissiles.com
Q Modelling http://www.qmodeling.com/
Quasar One Custom Rockets http://www.quasaronerockets.com/index.html
Quest Aerospace http://www.questaerospace.com
Quickburst http://www.quickburst.net
Rail Buttons http://www.railbuttons.com/rb
Red River Rocketry http://redriverrocketry.com/
Rocket T-Shirts http://rockettshirts.com
RocketChutes http://www.rocketchutes.com/Index.htm
Rocketman Enterprises http://www.the-rocketman.com
Rowes Retainers http://www.rowesretainers.co.uk
SEMROC http://www.semroc.com
Sirius Rocketry http://www.siriusrocketry.com
Spherachutes http://spherachutes.com/
Squirrel Works, The http://www.squirrel-works.com
Sunward Aerospace Group Limited http://www.sunward1.com
Tango Papa http://tangopapadecals.com/index.htm
The Launch Pad http://www.the-launch-pad.com
Thrustline Aerospace http://www.thrustlineaerospace.com
Top Flight Recovery http://www.topflightrecoveryllc.com
Trident RocketWorks http://www.trident-rocketworks.com/i...tpage&Itemid=1
True Modeler's Rocket Kits http://www.truemodeler.com/
US Rockets http://v-serv.com/usr/

Rocket Motor Manufacturers
Aerotech http://www.aerotech-rocketry.com
Cesaroni http://www.cesaroni.net
Contrail Rockets http://www.contrailrockets.com/
Dr Rocket http://www.drrocket.com
Estes Industries http://www.estesrockets.com
Gorilla Rocket Motors http://www.gorillarocketmotors.com
HyperTek Hybrids http://www.hypertekhybrids.com
Loki Research http://www.lokiresearch.com
Roadrunner Rocketry http://roadrunnerrocketry.com
Rocketflite http://www.rocketflite.com/
Rouse-Tech http://rouse-tech.com/index.htm
SFSM Industries http://www.sfsmindustries.com
Sky Ripper Systems http://www.skyrippersystems.com/

Rocketry Electronics
Adept Rocketry http://www.adeptrocketry.com
AltusMetrum http://altusmetrum.org/index.html
BigRedBee http://www.bigredbee.com/
Black Magic Missile Works http://www.blackmagicmissileworks.com
Feather Weight Altimeters http://www.featherweightaltimeters.com
Missile Works - http://www.missileworks.com
Ozark Aerospace http://www.ozarkaerospace.com/
Perfect Flite http://www.perfectflite.com
Pico http://www.picoalt.com/
Transolve http://www.transolve.com

Information
EMRR http://www.rocketreviews.com
Beginning Model Rocketry http://www.flythingz.com/rocketry/
European Model Rocketry http://www.europerocketry.com
Fly Rockets! http://www.flyrockets.com
Essence's Model Rocket Reviews http://www.rocketreviews.com/
Minnesota Rocketry Network http://www.mn-rocketry.net/mrn/index.htm
Ninfinger Productions http://www.ninfinger.org
PVC SPIDER R&D Project http://meatballrocketry.com/spider.htm
Rakety - plánky http://www.mo-na-ko.net/rakety-planky.htm#Monika
Rockets Magazine http://www.libertylaunchsystems.com
Sunward Aerospace http://www.sunward1.com/eduresources.htm
Thrust Curve http://www.thrustcurve.org
Ye Olde Rocket Forum http://www.oldrocketforum.com/

Plans
BARCLONE - http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
JimZ Rocket Plans http://www.dars.org/jimz/rp00.htm
Ultimate Paper Rocket Guide http://rocketry.wordpress.com/ultima...-rocket-guide/
Ye Olde Rocket Plans http://www.oldrocketplans.com

Print this item

  First BAR projects finally 'Finished'
Posted by: itspossumtime - 06-06-2015, 10:00 PM - Forum: Your Projects - Replies (7)

Okay, I'll get things started.

I got back into Rocketry after about a 30 year hiatus last fall, built several over the winter and finally got around to the painting a decals on several.

The Citation Patriot was my first.  Looking back now, I maybe should have started a little more slowly than to try and clone one, but it was my sentimental favorite from my youth and I wanted to have it again!  Although it was an easy to build rocket, it's really all about the decals.  Many thanks to Gordon at Excelsior Rocketry for the decals!

Pro Tip:  If you have a new pit bull puppy that lives in the same area you build and store your rockets, make sure you put them somewhere about 3 times higher than the length of your pup.  I had to start over with the Patriot, a Ricochet, and the Drifter in the picture (cut new fins, fill teeth marks, etc.).  I also had a Semroc April Dancer that I was only able to save the nose cone from (fortunate, since that is the defining characteristic of that rocket).  The Flutter-by was a total loss, but, thanks to the many Estes sales, it's back in the build pile.

Speaking of the Estes sales, that's where the Hornet and Phoenix Bird came from, as well as the Ricochet and Chuter-two not pictured (they're in the final stages of finishing/decals).

The Drifter is another sentimental favorite that I wanted to clone.  I just always found it to be very elegant.  Another round of thanks to Excelsior for its decals.  I really like a lot of the old 'Astron' designs, so I'll eventually have a Cobra and Ranger (I see Semroc has that kit available again).

[Image: 18534470442_16d5ca6f26_b.jpg]Untitled by 69murray, on Flickr

Print this item

  SEVRA Launch 6 Jun 15
Posted by: phlash - 06-06-2015, 07:34 AM - Forum: Local - Replies (2)

Looks like it's going to be a low-flying day at Fentress.  Cloud cover is at about 2000' right now and will rise throughout the day.

Print this item

  LDRS 34 is around the corner!
Posted by: darkstar rising - 06-05-2015, 04:41 PM - Forum: National - Replies (26)

Hi fellow fliers...

I hope you have your rockets lined up and ready to fly at LDRS 34, which is now less than 3 weeks away!
Based on the number of folks registered we are going to have hundreds of flights each day during this 5 day event. Cool

Between all of the flights, catching up with folks from the West coast and other areas we don't get to see often, the great food being offered at the field, the banquet, and some very special guests, this will prove to be one super event!
See you on the field in Potter NY for LDRS 34!  Smile
www.ldrs34.org

DSR

Print this item